Great American Annuity Reviews

See what our customers are saying.

At Great American Insurance Group, our goal is to simplify your path to financial security. You can find fixed and fixed-indexed annuities that are easier to understand, with principal protection, growth opportunity and guaranteed income options.

Based in Cincinnati, Ohio, our Customer Service representatives strive to provide friendly, knowledgeable and timely service to each of our 500,000+ contract owners.

Here’s what our customers are saying about their experience with Great American!


“People I talked to on the phone were unusually helpful and polite. I liked learning the progress online of my request. Thank you.”

Velma S. on 9/7/17


— Anonymous on 9/1/17

“Great American is very easy to deal with and always very prompt.”



— Sarah F. on 8/31/17

“Maureen was wonderful. In this day and age getting someone who is patient, helpful and knowledgeable is rare. She met all the criteria on how to provide top notch customer service.”



— Matthew K. on 8/28/17

“Very friendly and helpful with all questions I had. Helped me make confident decisions.”



— Anonymous on 8/8/17

“Except for the 25 minute wait on the phone the person I talked to was very nice and helpful.”

We work hard to keep hold times down, but we do experience an influx of calls at times. Take advantage of our callback option to have a Customer Service Representative contact you!


“I really appreciate your professionalism, knowledge and efficiency. It is always a pleasure to do business with this company.”

Catherine C. on 8/1/17


— Jane H. on 8/1/17

“Great American has always been GREAT to deal with! Very prompt and extremely professional!”



— Ronnie O. on 7/31/17

“Just a great company to do business with. Thanks a lot.”



— Anonymous on 7/27/17

“I think Great American is a great company and I would certainly recommend it to my friends.”



— Anonymous on 7/25/17

“The troops manning the phones have always been well-trained, helpful, and courteous. I found the request for withdrawal form's directions somewhat confusing.”



— Brenda G. on 7/25/17

“I have only had to contact Great American twice, but each time I am greeted by not only a knowledgeable staff member, but by a caring one. Thank you for your help.”


“The new website saves time clicking onto other sites. Especially like the convenience of being able to withdraw funds over the telephone and have them directly deposited to my bank.”

Betty W. on 7/19/17


— Patricia W. on 7/17/17

“Very helpful staff. Great customer service.”



— Anonymous on 7/16/17

“Service was very informative and friendly. Request was processed rapidly.”



— Paris F. on 7/12/17

“Customer service is great! Each time I called, I was treated with the utmost respect and urgency.”



— Enos P. on 7/7/17

“The questions that I had in regards to filling out the application process were answered very professionally. I am very pleased with your service.”



— Valencia H. on 7/5/17

“I am very pleased with my participation with Great American, and with the professionals who have always assisted me with my questions and requests.”



— Anonymous on 7/5/17

“I have been pleased with Great American for the past ten years for how well they have consistently responded to all my questions and requests.”



— Anonymous on 6/27/17

“My contact with your company was rather unique and pleasantly surprising. It is not very often one finds the level of customer service that your company provided. Good job!!”


“The person I dealt with by phone was absolutely wonderful. She took her time and explained everything. She offered all the help I could possibly need. Many thanks!”

Claire H. on 6/16/17


— Elizabeth W. on 6/15/17

“I feel very secure knowing my money is with you, and I get a good return each year. Great customer service and prompt processing of all my requests.”



— Cynthia K. on 6/12/17

“All my experiences with Great American have been handled in a courteous professional manner. Your customer service is phenomenal.”



— Ronald Y. on 5/30/17

“I've had the pleasure of speaking with a few of your reps. and they all were polite and professional. They seemed knowledgeable and very helpful. Any inquiries I've had were answered promptly and accurately. I appreciate the excellent service.”


“Those I spoke with on the telephone were extremely polite and helpful. They provided answers to all of my questions and guided me through the process needed. ”

Loretta S. on 5/23/17

— Anonymous on 5/19/17

“Our experience, overall, was very positive in that this was our first serious venture into planning for the future, protecting our children, getting serious about dealing with unexpected events. Our meeting in the early 1990s with your representative started us on a path that has worked out very well for the family.”


— Joyce T. on 5/2/17

“Wonderful service made it easy! Phone wait longer than expected but worth it to talk to a real person!”


— Larry G. on 4/25/17

“All personnel I interacted with while deciding what to do as my time for IRA distribution came near were very helpful. Thank you for your promptness.”


— Nona K. on 4/12/17

“I was very pleased with the way the transaction was done. It was explained very well so that I understood exactly what was going on. Representative was also very friendly.”


— Bill L. on 4/7/17

“The process of working with you was very easy and efficient - from start to finish.”

“Great American has been quick to meet any need during the years I have been with you.”

Anonymous on 4/6/17

— Andrea C. on 4/5/17

“Access to my account through the website is easy and convenient.”


— Anonymous on 4/3/17

“Access to my account through the website is easy and convenient.”


— Anonymous on 3/28/17

“All of the customer service representatives are extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Very easy to work with.”

“It use to take anywhere from 3-6 weeks to get a withdrawal payment and the last 3-4 times I have done it has been wonderfully quick. I appreciate the new speed. Thanks.”

Donna M. on 3/23/17

— Anonymous on 3/14/17

“I have had a very good experience with Great American. My money has been safe and secure.”


— Sharlene F. on 3/1/17

“Request for withdrawal was easy and processed quickly. I received a friendly and professional response from everyone I spoke with on the phone. I found the on hold time was quite long, but the music played was pleasant and never became annoying.”

Hold times may be longer when we’re experiencing a high volume of calls, so consider using our callback option to have a customer service representative contact you!


— Albert P. on 2/14/17

“I really like the friendliness of the service reps and your rapid responses to emails.”


— Anonymous on 2/3/17

“I have always had a positive experience with Great American. Never a problem. Always polite and courteous representatives helping me.”


— Anonymous on 2/1/17

“This company does what it says it’s going to do and does it timely and communicates with the customer when necessary.”


— Ken G. on 1/31/17

“Great American delivers on their mission statement. Service is above par.”


— Robert G. on 1/26/17

“Having retired in 2012, I felt it was unnecessary to go through the process of securing signature from a plan administrator. But, I am thankful this process is going through speedily with no hassles Thank you.”

We're happy to help our customers understand and work through plan administrator requirements! 


— Anonymous on 1/16/17

“The promptness and timely process to my requests has been great. Your dedication to customer service is greatly appreciated. Thanks for the years of service.”

“I have always been treated with kindness and respect. I trust your institution to safeguard my retirement and to explain areas I do not understand. Thank you very much.”

Rebecca C. on 1/12/17

— Cassandra M. on 1/11/17

“Very quick and polite response to my phone call. Very happy with your service.”


— Elizabeth W. on 1/6/17

“Always very professional and processes my requests quickly. Always give me detailed explanations about my annuity . I love this company and have done very well since putting my money with you.”


— Anonymous on 1/3/17

“Each time that I have engaged in conversation with a Representative, I have been guided through the process with the utmost professionalism and courtesy!! Thank You.”


— Melverdia Y. on 12/30/16

"Being a member with Great American make me feel special, I know my account is safe, The service is OUTSTANDING, AMAZING, YOU CAN FEEL THE LOVE!”


— Anonymous on 12/19/16

“It takes way too long to process a withdrawal.”

We’re pleased to report our average processing time has been reduced to 1-2 business days.


— Jeanetta L.

“Thank you for the great services provided to me. It was a rewarding experience. I have been very satisfied with services. Again, thank you!”

“Thank you for the quick turnaround. It is deeply appreciated. Vast improvements on customer service.”

Barbara K. on 11/29/16

— Judith N. on 11/28/16

“I don't think that I am upset with Great American, but with IRS or governmental regulatory rules. Every time I want to change beneficiaries, apply for my RMD, I need to go back to my former employer and get a signoff. Great American has always been helpful when I asked for help”

We understand the IRS rules and regulations surrounding an employer plan can be difficult. We’re here to help our policyholders work through them! 


— Gwen H. on 11/22/16

“The withdrawal process has improved greatly over the last four years. I especially appreciate the emails to let me know that my requests were received and have been handled.”


— Lynda S. on 11/15/16

“I was very impressed with the courteous customer service, it is so rare to deal with a company that obviously values the customer experience. Emily was my customer service representative and she was patient and thorough in answering all my questions. She was also very prompt in sending me the forms that I needed. I have contacted Great American twice over the years that I have been a customer and both times I have been very pleased.”


Tell us about your experience.


Rating Key

Extremely satisfied

Very satisfied

Neutral

Somewhat satisfied

Not at all satisfied

Tell us about your experience

 

Financial Strength You Can Count On

Our annuity companies are proud to be rated:

  • “A” (Excellent) by A.M. Best
  • “A+” by Standard & Poor’s

A.M. Best rating affirmed August 11, 2017 and is third highest of 16 ratings. Standard & Poor’s rating affirmed February 8, 2017. Ratings apply to Great American Life Insurance Company and Annuity Investors Life Insurance Company.

Learn More

To learn more about Great American Annuities visit us at GAIGAnnuities.com