Great American Annuity Reviews

See what our customers are saying.

At Great American Insurance Group, our goal is to simplify your path to financial security. You can find fixed and fixed-indexed annuities that are easier to understand, with principal protection, growth opportunity and guaranteed income options.

Based in Cincinnati, Ohio, our Customer Service representatives strive to provide friendly, knowledgeable and timely service to each of our 500,000+ contract owners.

Here’s what our customers are saying about their experience with Great American!



— Anonymous on 3/28/17

“All of the customer service representatives are extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Very easy to work with.”

“It use to take anywhere from 3-6 weeks to get a withdrawal payment and the last 3-4 times I have done it has been wonderfully quick. I appreciate the new speed. Thanks.”

Donna M. on 3/23/17

— Anonymous on 3/14/17

“I have had a very good experience with Great American. My money has been safe and secure.”


— Sharlene F. on 3/1/17

“Request for withdrawal was easy and processed quickly. I received a friendly and professional response from everyone I spoke with on the phone. I found the on hold time was quite long, but the music played was pleasant and never became annoying.”

Hold times may be longer when we’re experiencing a high volume of calls, so consider using our callback option to have a customer service representative contact you!


— Albert P. on 2/14/17

“I really like the friendliness of the service reps and your rapid responses to emails.”


— Anonymous on 2/3/17

“I have always had a positive experience with Great American. Never a problem. Always polite and courteous representatives helping me.”


— Anonymous on 2/1/17

“This company does what it says it’s going to do and does it timely and communicates with the customer when necessary.”


— Ken G. on 1/31/17

“Great American delivers on their mission statement. Service is above par.”


— Robert G. on 1/26/17

“Having retired in 2012, I felt it was unnecessary to go through the process of securing signature from a plan administrator. But, I am thankful this process is going through speedily with no hassles Thank you.”

We're happy to help our customers understand and work through plan administrator requirements! 


— Anonymous on 1/16/17

“The promptness and timely process to my requests has been great. Your dedication to customer service is greatly appreciated. Thanks for the years of service.”

“I have always been treated with kindness and respect. I trust your institution to safeguard my retirement and to explain areas I do not understand. Thank you very much.”

Rebecca C. on 1/12/17

— Cassandra M. on 1/11/17

“Very quick and polite response to my phone call. Very happy with your service.”


— Elizabeth W. on 1/6/17

“Always very professional and processes my requests quickly. Always give me detailed explanations about my annuity . I love this company and have done very well since putting my money with you.”


— Anonymous on 1/3/17

“Each time that I have engaged in conversation with a Representative, I have been guided through the process with the utmost professionalism and courtesy!! Thank You.”


— Melverdia Y. on 12/30/16

"Being a member with Great American make me feel special, I know my account is safe, The service is OUTSTANDING, AMAZING, YOU CAN FEEL THE LOVE!”


— Anonymous on 12/19/16

“It takes way too long to process a withdrawal.”

We’re pleased to report our average processing time has been reduced to 1-2 business days.


— Jeanetta L.

“Thank you for the great services provided to me. It was a rewarding experience. I have been very satisfied with services. Again, thank you!”

“Thank you for the quick turnaround. It is deeply appreciated. Vast improvements on customer service.”

Barbara K. on 11/29/16

— Judith N. on 11/28/16

“I don't think that I am upset with Great American, but with IRS or governmental regulatory rules. Every time I want to change beneficiaries, apply for my RMD, I need to go back to my former employer and get a signoff. Great American has always been helpful when I asked for help”

We understand the IRS rules and regulations surrounding an employer plan can be difficult. We’re here to help our policyholders work through them! 


— Gwen H. on 11/22/16

“The withdrawal process has improved greatly over the last four years. I especially appreciate the emails to let me know that my requests were received and have been handled.”


— Lynda S. on 11/15/16

“I was very impressed with the courteous customer service, it is so rare to deal with a company that obviously values the customer experience. Emily was my customer service representative and she was patient and thorough in answering all my questions. She was also very prompt in sending me the forms that I needed. I have contacted Great American twice over the years that I have been a customer and both times I have been very pleased.”


Tell us about your experience.


Rating Key

Extremely satisfied

Very satisfied

Neutral

Somewhat satisfied

Not at all satisfied

Tell us about your experience

 

Financial Strength You Can Count On

Our annuity companies are proud to be rated:

  • “A” (Excellent) by A.M. Best
  • “A+” by Standard & Poor’s

A.M. Best rating affirmed May 12, 2016 and is third highest of 16 ratings. Standard & Poor’s rating affirmed February 8, 2017. Ratings apply to Great American Life Insurance Company and Annuity Investors Life Insurance Company.

Learn More

To learn more about Great American Annuities visit us at GAIGAnnuities.com